A Journey Going To Mamuju

When someone says about Sulawesi, in my mind will grow my all folks from that island. I have some friends who had come from there. Sulawesi’s people are diligent, smart, and they have a strategic culture to fight with everything condition. Bugis and Mandar spirits were interesting to me.

And, from 1 to 4 September 2022, I was going to Mamuju, West Sulawesi. Going there to work, of course, made some news about The Minister of Home Affairs who come to the Sandeq Festival. The event was held at Manakarra Beach, especially on Jalan Arteri Mamuju. A few of public figures also come, like the Governor of West Sulawesi, regent Mamuju, and local government ranks.

Manakarra Beach, Mamuju

We (I and my work colleagues) stayed at d’Maleo Hotel. This hotel has a great landscape in the front of the lobby. You can see a beautiful sea between two islands, and the sky there looked amazing, the light of blues made you so peace in your inner heart. I was feeling blessed to see a such beautiful sea like that.

d’Maleo Mamuju

I had some nice stories which I want to share with you about my journey to Mamuju….

I was going from Soekarno-Hatta Airport to Sultan Hasanuddin Makassar Airport on 1 September 2022, this flight wasted time amount 2 hours. We arrived in Makassar very early and stay at Ibis Hotel near the airport for about 6 hours. Actually, in Makassar we just transit and made coordinated with a clerk there, in the governor’s buildings.

Makassar hotter than Palangkaraya. The city situation in Makassar is the same as the other big cities in Indonesia. And you know, the funny thing is I become an SJW of grammar which analyses the English sentences with the weird structure in the airport, haha. This is because my beloved English teacher inspires me to practice English anywhere. And I missed my teacher at that time.

Still, in Makassar, our driver there told us about PSM Makassar which often loses. Then he showed the field where PSM practices, and it’s near the toll road. “Why is the field here? If the ball goes to the toll road, how’s it?” asked my friend.

Then we passed the bridge and the driver said, “Development has stalled since Nurdin Abdullah (the former governor of South Sulawesi involved in corruption) came down.” Then at the Traffic Post, I found another model of a busker (pengamen) from the many innovations of singing: singing with holy verses. A girl about junior high school level reads a letter in the Qur’an. There are many models of pengamen, the Pantura is rich in singing models, and the road along Jogja-Ngawi too, and for me, this is the most religious model of singing.

Tampa Padang Airport
Mercusuar

Then, we flew to Tampa Padang Airport in Mamuju. This airport has been small, it is not like the airport in Makassar. Mamuju is a city, which can take about 8 hours with a road trip from Makassar or Palu, it can take about 1 hour if you use a plane. This city is frequently hit by an earthquake. And also ever experienced a severe earthquake. One of the victim was a man who deliver us from the airport to d’Maleo.

He told, when the earthquake did, money was nothing. He made an example, as his child which still a baby and need a bottle of milk, he looked for in the Indomaret. Unfortunately, Indomaret was wrecked.  Then, he come to the Indomaret with the hope there was a bottle of milk there, but he didn’t get it and met with a corpse of water over there. His parents also had been to be  a victim there.

In Mamuju, the signal is still difficult. The society worked the majority as a farmer and planters. There is a myth in Mamuju, one has to be careful when drinking a cup of coffee. If not, coffee will be toxic that can kill someone. Someone who drinking coffee must see his imaginary face in that coffee. This myth still works now.

Gloomy Day in Mamuju

And there were many things events that I did here, from following the minister to just enjoyed the air in Manakarra Beach. I never think that I would be there, and never had a dream to achieve it. And abundant thanks to God, He always gives me a chance to see the world and Indonesia wider. Sandeq Festival is also good and I like to show it longer if I can.

We went back to Jakarta on 4 September 2022, we used the same airplane, Lion Air and Garuda Air. In the airplane I watched the film with the title is “Superintelligence”, it is a funny film I think, haha. I’m happy to get to Jakarta again, still a few of my beloved friends that I’m so missing.

Tinggalkan komentar

Rancang situs seperti ini dengan WordPress.com
Ayo mulai