A City Story: Balikpapan

Above all, many issues have been hot for moving our capital from Jakarta (Java) to Nusantara (Penajam Paser Utara, East Kalimantan). On Monday, Feb. 20, 2023, with my colleagues as usual (Mas Agus and Jefri), we flew to Balikpapan by Garuda Airline from Soetta to Sultan Aji Muhammad Sulaiman Sepinggan Airport. We were covering about coordination meeting of The Directorate General of Politics and General Administration, Ministry of Home Affairs at the Novotel Hotel. The main issue was about Kesbangpol (Kesatuan Bangsa dan Politik), elections, and the moving of capital.

Rumah Cagar Budaya Dahor
Museum Kodam VI/Mulawarman
Cheng Ho Mosque

In the amid of my job, I used to my time to go around. On the first day, I came to Rumah Dohar Heritage. I met with groups of junior high school students who studied history. This home was built in the 1920s, the architecture was a stilts house, was formed by vernacular shape from East Kalimantan Culture. The color is green and white, with many big windows and big doors.

Meriam Jepang
A Beach
A nice view

I came also to Kodam VI/Mulawarman Museum, is about 1.5 kilometers from Dahor Heritage. I studied much about military here. I met with Mr. Suharyono (if I didn’t forget his name), he told me about this museum and became my guide. This museum is divided by around 4 dioramas, from the sign TNI symbol, the photos of Indonesia occupation in some areas in the colonial era, until tools in the war era. You can see here many historical stuffs, its like cameras, guns, typewriters, uniforms, trumpet, wartime medical equipment, also East Kalimantan traditional weapons.

Gedung Kesenian Balikpapan
A Mosque
A mosque…

For the second day, I came to some beaches, from Monpera Beach, Kemala Beach, and Melawai Beach by walking from Bintang Hotel. As I said, I was reflecting that Balikpapan City has same pattern with my city in Cepu, Blora, Central Java. Many refineries and Pertamina symbol.

Tinggalkan komentar

Rancang situs seperti ini dengan WordPress.com
Ayo mulai